Showing posts with label [:]. Show all posts
Showing posts with label [:]. Show all posts

Saturday, April 14, 2012

Two Questions...

[:1]Ok two questions, first is regarding my skills.

Level 74 at the time of this posting, following Zarni's guide.

Current Bonuses, With Hoto and Homonc equipped.

+7 To all skills

+4 To Summoning Skills

+4 To Curses

This leaves me with 31 SM, RS, RSM, and +12 in all other skill areas that I only put a single point into. SM/RS/RSM were all maxed out to 20, What doesn't make sense to me is why I have level 31 SM/RS/RSM but ALL my other skills come out to +12? Should I not have level 32 in RS/SM/RSM? I do not understand where the extra point is magically coming from? I have no other equipment that gives any +skills. I have been VERY meticulous about adding skills so I'm sure I didn't add any extras on mistake when training.



I'm using,

HoTo (+3 All skills) (King Leoric on switch)

Homonculus (+2 Curses, +2 Necro Skil levels) (Pdiamond) (Rare +3SM/RS shield on Switch)

Thundergods

Chancies

Wartravellers

Trang's Scales (+2 Summoning Skills)

Shako (+2 All Skills) (Isted)

+2 Summon Skills ammy

(2) +1 to Curses GC



My second question has to do with weapon switching. I want to get Naj's puzzler for the Tele since I cannot afford an Enigma. The Problem however is that I would like to avoid dropping skellies after they have been summoned when I switch over to Naj's. How do I do this? I have been trying to switch to leorics when summoning since I get level 34 RS/SM but when I switch back to Hoto+homonc they drop to only 10 skellies so I lose 3 total and have to summon 2 more that are weaker.|||Quote:








I'm using




Any rings?




Quote:








The Problem however is that I would like to avoid dropping skellies after they have been summoned when I switch over to Naj's. How do I do this?




You can only achieve that by making sure that the difference between having your primary weapon/shield combo and not using them is no more than +2 skills. That is to say that if you remove your primary weapon and shield and do not equip anything else you do not lose any more than +2 skills. Otherwise Skellies will drop.|||Quote:








Ok two questions, first is regarding my skills.

Level 74 at the time of this posting, following Zarni's guide.

Current Bonuses, With Hoto and Homonc equipped.

+7 To all skills

+4 To Summoning Skills

+4 To Curses

This leaves me with 31 SM, RS, RSM, and +12 in all other skill areas that I only put a single point into. SM/RS/RSM were all maxed out to 20, What doesn't make sense to me is why I have level 31 SM/RS/RSM but ALL my other skills come out to +12? Should I not have level 32 in RS/SM/RSM? I do not understand where the extra point is magically coming from? I have no other equipment that gives any +skills. I have been VERY meticulous about adding skills so I'm sure I didn't add any extras on mistake when training.




The numbers look sound to me. You gain a +11 to your stuff. 20+11 at your main skills puts them at 31. 1+11 at your requisite/1pt skills puts them at 12. Simple oversight


Quote:








My second question has to do with weapon switching. I want to get Naj's puzzler for the Tele since I cannot afford an Enigma.




I recommend an amulet or circlet with teleportation, personally; you can gamble for them or possibly trade. I have several saved up that I keep on hand, personally, since the realm I play on has no duping and the road to Enigma is long :P|||Quote:








The numbers look sound to me. You gain a +11 to your stuff. 20+11 at your main skills puts them at 31. 1+11 at your requisite/1pt skills puts them at 12. Simple oversight




WOW, I swore I was over looking something lol. Thanks for catching that.




Quote:








I recommend an amulet or circlet with teleportation, personally; you can gamble for them or possibly trade. I have several saved up that I keep on hand, personally, since the realm I play on has no duping and the road to Enigma is long :P




Dunno if I want to do this as I don't want to give up my +2 Summoning skill, I'd rather walk if I had to. I would rather give up a ring slot, is that possible?




Quote:








Any rings?




No, Just junk rings with +mana and a little MF, trying to get a Sojo/Nagels




Quote:








You can only achieve that by making sure that the difference between having your primary weapon/shield combo and not using them is no more than +2 skills. That is to say that if you remove your primary weapon and shield and do not equip anything else you do not lose any more than +2 skills. Otherwise Skellies will drop.




Lol didn't realise Naj's was a staff, gonna lose A LOT of points by switching that off. Not sure I'm gonna be able to do this now, sucks. Looks like Enigma is the only thing that wont require any sacrifice in skellies. Its just so FRICKIN expensive!|||Quote:








Dunno if I want to do this as I don't want to give up my +2 Summoning skill, I'd rather walk if I had to. I would rather give up a ring slot, is that possible?




It's possible, but I have four teleportation amulets and a teleportation circlet and have never seen teleportation on a ring, so I'd assume the amulet is easier to find.

If you do find a ring that does have teleportation, then hey, go right ahead. Equipment isn't that important on a skeleton necro; I roll around in Trang gear even though I have better stuff in storage. Necro's not really the class you want to farm with.|||Quote:








It's possible, but I have four teleportation amulets and a teleportation circlet and have never seen teleportation on a ring, so I'd assume the amulet is easier to find.

If you do find a ring that does have teleportation, then hey, go right ahead. Equipment isn't that important on a skeleton necro; I roll around in Trang gear even though I have better stuff in storage. Necro's not really the class you want to farm with.




Being poor and VERY new to the trading world, it's the cheapest, and best way I could get started.|||Quote:








Being poor and VERY new to the trading world, it's the cheapest, and best way I could get started.




Not really. Any sorc would be quicker and a bowazon as well. I have been trying to MF with my necro as well and am regretting it. Next ladder i think ill start with a bowazon. I like my necro for cow running but even tgen u have to really be careful u dont axe the king with a CE.

Need a new Necro build

[:1]The basic bonemancer is getting me down. I find myself desiring a more unique, enjoyable approach to playing the necromancer. The three builds I have discovered while perusing this here site for only one day! And what do you know! they all sound very interesting and fun to play. The first, the jailer (or something of the sort), uses mass bone prisons to trap almost every enemy on screen then smite them with bone spears (also relies heavily on CE). The second character I found was the corpse explosion bone spear combination (forget the name, something to do with explosions). Though this build sounds very much like the one before, I think it deserves another mention since it had a youtube video of some gameplay that was just dandy. The last build is the one that I personally found the most intriguing, the Trang-Oul's build. Essentially a poisonmancer with the metamorphosis benefit of a vampire thanks to the afore mentioned set. I think that sounds just enjoyable, and though the build was meant for PvP, it did have PvM in the title so I know that it would be quite good for both. So my main question, what are some good, unique builds that are decent at getting through hell and maybe doing a tad bit of MFing in areas such as the Pit or Chaos Sanctuary?

Aside from the main point of this thread, how many pieces of the Trang-Oul's set could I get for an Isted HoZ?|||I'd say you could easily get full trang set for an Isted hoz. You should ask the question on the trade value forums.|||If that trade is possible, then perhaps I will start out with a fishymancer and then respec to the vampire build. That sounds pretty good to me. Any other ideas on unique, effective builds?|||It could be fun to make experimental builds and check by yourself which fits you better..If you have access to bnet you can lvl up fast about to 60-70 in one "working" day then hit your respecs and carefuly plan what you are going next..

Try play HC to add the extra element of survival-killing speed to your build it could be more fun...

For normalcore i suggest try a melee build with lifetap, maxed blood golem\mastery\fire golem ,maxed dim vision, and get the +1 to zeal runeword (forgot the name) when you can...Your naturaly low life will hit bottom and then go up full as long as you and your blood golem hits targets in hell,while picking your fights with no stress with the off screen radius of dim vision,not to mention ranged attackers,creatures who summon,cast spells etc.

But you are item dependant, you need angelic rings for the Ar and possibly a blessed aim act 2 normal merc,though it would be better with a holy freeze merc,you need crushing blow..You never gonna clear areas fast enough as even a regular summoner do but its up to you..

I haved tryed in HC this one too and reached guardian, really enjoyable but PAIN.

For HC i suggest a poison/bone hybrid.. the dependance of +skills will keep you until 95 or so..

thats all i have in mind|||Currently, I've been trying to create a new Necromancer, with mdr as the main factor (in this case, magic damage refers to lightning/fire/cold/magic) and bone armor, for physical damage. Here is what I have, so far.

{Add 30% res for quest items}

Head: Crown of Ages 2Sock/30% (Mal Mal)

Wep: White RW with +1 Lower Resist/+2 Iron Golem/+1 Summon Resist

Armor: Guardian Angel (Um)

Sheild: Jewler's Monarch of Negation 5 (Mal Mal Mal Mal)

Gloves: Trang's

Belt: Crendendum

Boots: Rare Tri Res 30%+ boots

Ring:

Ring:

Amulet: 20%/2Necro/75%PLR/31 life Rare Amulet

Charms: Hellfire (20%/16) Anni (20%/19/8%) 2 5%@sc of vita (20 and 18)

Add up the res, and it is 190.

Add up the mdr, and it is 47, not much but enough to make magic damage super pathetic.

Skills:

Bone Armor:1

Bone Wall:20

Teeth:1

Corpse Explosion:1

Bone Spear:20

Bone Prison:20

Dim Vision:1

Clay Golem:1

Golem Mastery:20

Poison Dagger:1

Poison Explosion:1

Poison Nova:20

Finished at level 96.

I'm unsure what to put into the Golem, but most likely something with high ele damage or High physical damage.

I have yet to test this, but from my playing, it seems possible. I need to get a motherboard and then I can test this theoretical build.|||what is actualy gonna pretend a 2-3k nova here? or 20 mastery since you can get a lvl 15-20 golem with equipment + shrine and then switch to your regular and have it last for a full hell game (unless disapears) and also with enough AR to hit anything...

Even fire golem maxed to 32 or so and with LR curse the only thing that can kill maybe in one hit is immune to fire...And thats a fallen

MF fishy questions

[:1]hey peeps !

I'm back after a 3 year break now and i'm getting it on pretty good. Got some nice stuff traded and had for free but now i have a couple of questions.

My equipment :

Shako

Skullders

Spirit

Rhyme

War travelers

nagelring (some crappy 25 or something but it's nice )

a crappy mf ring (11 mf... :$)

Tal rasha belt

Chancies

Eye of etlich

Now i know it's not really much but i think it's reasonable. My skills :

20 RS

20 RM

20 CE

1 amp

1 golem/golem mastery

1 decrib and pre's

and that's it. I'm level 63 so i'm not finished yet.

My questions:

What skill should i get next / max ?

I know some things are easy to improve like my ring and my weapon/rhyme. What should i aim for ? Remember my budget is mal atm at most (i have 1 mal xD)!

what is a nice cheapish outfit for my merc ? I have a might a2 merc without any equipment atm so... I am poor again so maybe some budget things that could make him survive in late nm/early hell .

Further tips are welcome !|||Personally, I would start to work on getting Skeleton Mastery maxed. You should also get Lower Resist since you have mages.

As for equipment, you should try and obtain a Arm of King Leoric wand. It's a really, really great wand for summoners, and is fairly cheap as well.|||where do you play? i can prob give you a 30 nagel. i play us west

maybe some armor for your merc too =)|||The core of the fishymancer build is maxing Skeleton Mastery+Raise Skeleton+Corpse Explosion. You should max the Mastery (restat is faster). Other skillpoints can go into Amplify Damage for better radius, Revives or a Golem maybe?

For merc: Duriels Shell/Treachery runeword, Crown of Theives/Vampire Gaze/Tal mask, Insight/Obedience/Reaper's Toll.|||http://diablo.incgamers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=758633|||Quote:








The core of the fishymancer build is maxing Skeleton Mastery+Raise Skeleton+Corpse Explosion. You should max the Mastery (restat is faster). Other skillpoints can go into Amplify Damage for better radius, Revives or a Golem maybe?

For merc: Duriels Shell/Treachery runeword, Crown of Theives/Vampire Gaze/Tal mask, Insight/Obedience/Reaper's Toll.




SM was skeleton mastery soo :P hehe thats full and tnx for the merc tips, its more important than i thought|||More than one point in any golem, or any curse except dim vision is a waste. Ditto revives.|||u should do pit runs until you got obedience on elite polearm (tresher or cryptic axe ) and 1 life leech item for your merc, the rest of game will be easy |||Quote:








u should do pit runs until you got obedience on elite polearm (tresher or cryptic axe ) and 1 life leech item for your merc, the rest of game will be easy




arrrrgh..... cold damage on a merc leads to shattered corpses which leads to less boom-boom from teh CE howitzer.

in any case, here is my $0.02 on MF skellynecs.

Archon plate looks ugly...

[:1]other suggestions for a bramble?|||Maybe a wire fleece or wyrmhide will match your taste.|||http://diablo2.diablowiki.net/Armor_Appearance



Check that link for a decent look at all styles.|||Quote:








http://diablo2.diablowiki.net/Armor_Appearance



Check that link for a decent look at all styles.




Awesome, thank you.

Summon-Necro - need advice

[:1]So I have a 73 Necromancer and I'm not sure where to distribute my last points/stats. This is my "starting back" character, which I will use for finding items - also because I like Necros. Right now I have max RS, SM, and CE. I have 1 in all golems, summon resist, summon mastery, raise skeletal mage, and revive. I have 1 in every curse. I have 1 in Bone Armor, bone wall, and probably going to put 1 in bone prison (because I have a lot of +Skill attributes, I think I will have some decent bonuses from Bone wall and Bone prison to stack Bone armor).

For stats, I got enough str to wear marrow boots (118). Rest I'm dumping into Vitality; however, I'm not sure if I should focus on Dex instead for max block. Many people say as a summon-necro it's more worth it to invest in vitality, especially since I have an entire army. Although, I do have the homon shield.

So for my remaining points, I am torn between more skeletal mage, golem mastery/Iron Golem? (if I go for item finding, perhaps I will be able to have decent IG summons), revives, or perhaps more into bone armor buffs (wall and prison). Any thoughts? I was more inclined to pump Mages, but I just think they will keep blocking the way for my minions to navigate to their target (I've experienced this so far, and I'm able to summon 6 mages in total). Although, it might be different if I had enigma... which I guess I will need to create.|||I myself don't like putting a point in every golem... sure I did that on the first Necro I ever played, but after re-making so many I see how it's mostly a waste of time to have anything other than the cheap to re-cast super-slow-it-down Clay Golem.

As for putting a point in Bone Wall and Bone Prison, to allow your +skills to stack them higher, you gotta remember that only your hard placed points count for synergies. So any plus skills you have will definitely help pump your Bone Armor when you cast it, but only hard points in the other 2 will be counted... which means you want to place any spare points into Wall/Prison because it adds more dmg reduction and keeps mana cost low.

I think you have it right about Mages - you are gonna end up with too many minions that will just clog up doors/passageways, and they are mostly unneeded since you have CE.

So here is a summary of my suggestions:

1) Max Block if you have Homonc.

2) Clay Golem only. If you don't wanna re-spec, then it's no real biggie.

3) No Mages or Revives... again, you might not wanna bother changing at this point.

4) All spare points into either Bone Wall/Prison, in order to beef up Bone Armor.|||I disagree with getting max block on a summoner. My reasoning follows.

1) You will have 9+ skeletons that will be in the thick of things while you hang back.

2) Apart from the odd occasion of a stiggie slipping through your defences , The only things hitting you will consist of elemental damage. Block doesn't help.

3. If you choose to max out mages then these tend to hang back near the necromancer so these provide extra defense against them random stiggies.

I agree to choose one golem and stick to it, Iron and Clay are basically your choices in the current patch with the other two basically wasted points. Fire has some uses on a PvP poisonmancer. I prefer clay for its slowing effects but Iron can be put to great use.

I'm a fan of mages as a utility skill providing increased sources of damage and protection. This is a endless debate that rests on personal preference with absolutely no correct answer. I recommend Max mages and 1 point revives especially if you plan on uburing with your necromancer which is difficult but rewarding. Urdars and their kind are great revives to add to your arsenal coming equipped with crushing blow which drastically increases boss killing speed. Its your choice, Mages are like Marmite, You either love em or hate em.

I disagree with the need for any points in bone armor beyond a 1 point wonder for the reasons stated against blocking on a summoner.



Enigma will solve every mage/revive issue you could ever possibly encounter but yes without enigma they can be a pain. I really like them in maggot lair though.|||Quote:








I disagree with getting max block on a summoner.




Why? With 2 points life per hard point invested in vita, the 100 points or so you invest in dex to get max block would translate into 200 life. A colossus magic belt of something gives you half that, plus some resists just from shopping.

I really can't see investing in vita (nevermind str or ene) giving your character a better chance of surviving than getting max block with a decent shield (64% Ctb or more).|||I have the Homon, 72%. I'm totally torn between max block and more health. Will I have to sacrifice that much vitality points to obtain max block with this shield?

I could always go with more mages, but is 1 point in clay and iron enough? I had put a point into others for prereqs, but also 1 in FG I was told for syngergy (with all the + skill attributes). I did the same for 1 in bone armor, bone wall, and bone prison.|||As I said I disagree, I didn't say it was the only way to go. I gave perfectly logical reasons to why I found it unnesacery to invest in block.

Take for example the most common close call I have is walking around a corner and finding a few packs of souls and maybe one with conviction and getting out with 100-150 hp . If I went block I would of been dead. In my experience and play style which may differ from everyone elses I simply do not get hit enough by blockable damage to warrant losing 400+ hp (after bo) which just so happens makes ALL the difference in the few occasions it comes into play.

I find that 200 ish bone armor is more than enough for the occasional slip up that causes a stiggie to slap me before I either teleport away or run behind my mages.





Summoners are pretty much the only builds I simply do not consider max block at all. This is regardless of the wealth investing in the character and has remained true through my years of playing and each consecutive ladder rush I have done each with a summoner. Once I get to the final stage in the necros development then the blockable attackers simply do not threaten my well being with my 1 point boosted bone armor being far more than needed for playing. 200+ depending on set up.

Again this is another point of personal preference.

EDIT

@norreck

With Homon it would require around 203 dex at level 90 to maintain max block. Obviously the more stats you can save the less disastrous it is to maintain max block. Worst case you will be sacrificing around 188 stats (376 hp) BEFORE battle orders.

1 point in Clay & golem mastery (boosted) is generally more than enough because Clay has really good returns on investment. Untwinked a few extra points will help until your geared out. Golem mastery is the important skill for life iirc.

The golem is their to tank its got little else going for it so I'd say just stick with 1 point clay as I think Iron requires too much investment to be of use as a killer and isn't as good a tank as a clay golem.

This will be useful to you

http://tph.tuwien.ac.at/~gottwald/ne...alculator.html|||Thanks for the advice. I plan on pumping into mages (I'll eventually craft enigma). Maybe I'll use the remainder on a bone armor synergy.|||Make it a point to make the next big purchase after enigma a Infinity, It is expensive but in my opinion it is brilliant.

Conviction advantages.

- Lowers enemy defence which increases skeletons chance to hit

- Mages get the - res increasing damage

- CE gets the fire portion of the damage increased through -resists.

-Its got 40 CB and decent damage so the merc really can hold his own.|||I'm sorry I'm a little noob , but by conviction for necro are you referring to Lower Resist curse? I heard investing into that is actually beneficial for mages.

Oh by the way, is it worth investing more than 1 point in any curse, such as Dim Vision or Lower Res?|||Quote:








but also 1 in FG I was told for syngergy (with all the + skill attributes). I did the same for 1 in bone armor, bone wall, and bone prison.






Like I tried to tell you before, someone is steering you wrong when it comes to synergies, either that or you misunderstood them.

"+1 in FG for synergy (with all the +skill)" doesn't synergize all of your +skills.. it synergizes exactly one point. The hard point you placed in.



I know the other guy piping in doesn't quite agree with me on Mages, and Max Block, and etc. But the fact is there are only so many points allowed for each character, and synergies tend to eat up quite a few of those. So which would you rather be, spread around with 1pt in everything whether you use them all the time or not?

Or have max block, a nicely synergized Bone Armor, hopefully maxed resists, and your Skele army+Merc+Gumby to get that first kill so you can spam CE? Cuz we all know you don't really need 10+ Skeles AND 10+ Mages AND 10+ Revives all running back and forth over the screen not getting much done. All you need is that one dang corpse, and CE clears out the screen.

I prefer to walk fearlessly thru Hell blowing it all to Kingdom Come... not hiding behind 30 minions and praying that an Extra Fast Multiple Shot archer pack doesn't get a line of sight on me. Max Block and spammable synergized Bone Armor insures that never happens.

pvp poison mancer gear - need advice

[:1]+ helm: 2 necro 20fcr

+ enigma

+ death web 2/2/40 ( so close )

+ trangoul's gloves

+ arach

+ jeweler monarch of blocking with 4 rainbows

+ 2 necro 10 block crafted amulet

+ 2x fcr ring

+ Boots?

Can he kill anybody? |||Get a 2necro 15+fcr amulet and 2 sojs/bks/sorb rings. Waterwalks would be the best for you but u will need some fhr charms. |||i see that my build have crap resist, i must switch to spirit shield and mara for more resist

now i have a 2 socket CoA, does it better than shako or not?

thanks

PvP Summoning Necro Build/Guide

[:1](Before we get this started I would like to say this is my first build/guide here and my first post so any help, advice would be appreciated. Thank you!)



Selvantion's PvP Summoning Necro Guide!



Introduction: Well most people think that using a Summoning Necro in PvP is perposterous. They have never fought one that know's what he/she is doing! My Build/Guide will teach you everything you need to know about a Summoning Necro!

Stats:

Strength: Base (May need to add some points.)

Dexterity: Base (May need to add some points.)

Vitality: All

Energy: Base

Skill's:

Summoning:

Raise Skeleton: 20

Raise Skeleton Mages: 20

Skeleton Mastery: 20

Clay Golem: 5

Golem Mastery: 1

Summon Resist: 20

Blood Golem: 1

Iron Golem: 1

Revive: 5

Poison and Bone:

Bone Armor: 5

Bone Wall: 1

Teeth: 1

Corpse Explosion: 1

Bone Spear: 1

Bone Prison: 1

Curses:

Amplify Damage: 5

Iron Maiden: 1

Life Tap: 1

Gear:

Armour: Enigma (Enigma is a MUST!) (Mage Plate, Gothic Plate)

Helmet: A +2 Necromancer Skills, 20 Faster Cast Rate, 30 Faster Run/Walk, 2 Socket Circlet or Shako.

Gloves: Trang-Oul's Claws: 20 Faster Cast Rate, 30 Cold Resist, +2 to Curses or MageFists or FrostBurn's

Boot's: Marrowwalk's (Perfect if you can, otherwise any!) or Sandstorm Trek's 15/15 (Ethereal is you're choice.)

Shield (Head): Homunculus or DarkSpawn (Excuse my spelling) or a +2 to Necromancer skills, +2 to Raise Skeletons, Mages, or + (X) to Revive or a Spirit Monarch.

Weapon: Beast (Beast is a must!) (Try to get it in a low req Axe!)

Belt: Arachnid's Mesh (Spider), Verdungo's Hearty Cord.

Ring's: Two Stone of Jordan's or One Faster Cast Rate ring with nice mods and a Stone of Jordan.

Amulet: +2 Necromancer skills, 20 Faster cast Rate, Life/Mana mod's or A 25 + Mara's.

Switch: CTA preferably 6bo but anything is fine. Lidless!

Inventory:

9x Summoning Grand Charms: Preferably with 30 + life! Also throw in two Faster hit recovery Summoning Gc's too.

10x 20/5 Small Charms aswell! (20/5's refer too 20 life 5 resistence or FHR sc's)

20/x Necro torch

20/x Annihilus

Mercenary:

Ethereal Fortitude Perfect! (Archon Plate!)

Pride Eth CV

Eth Andariels!

Dueling Strategies:

Amazon (Easy):

Javazon: Amplify damage and teleport on her she will die fast enough.

Bowazon: Amplify damage and teleport on her she will take a few seconds to die.

Assassin (Medium):

Trap-Sin: You will need to use lifetap on her and teleport on her. (Her traps will kill you're Mages fast.)

WW/Hybrid Assassin: Amplify damage and teleport on her. You're life/Bone Armor will easily tank two of her WW's/Traps

Barbarians (Extra Easy):

BvC: They have life but no Block! Just Amplify damage and teleport on them wont take long to take them out.

BvB's: If you find one laugh. Iron Maiden them and they are dead. Teleport on them to make sure Iron Maiden works.

Warcry Barb's: Don't worry about these you wont even have to curse!

Paladins (Medium):

HammerDin's: Amplify Damage and tele underneath them. They wont take long to die.

Foher's: EASY! They can't aim their FoH at you. Just Amplify Damage and Teleport on them.

Smiters: Easiest fight in game. Fallen's in Act 1 Normal put up a better fight! Iron Maiden and teleport on them.

Auradin: Seldomly found and somewhat difficult. Amplify Damage and tele right on them and pray to god you're Revives kill them fast enough.

Druids (Hard):

Nado Druid's: Amplify Damage and teleport under them and let you're mages hit them. Don't get caught in their nado's or you are dead.

Summoning Druid's: Wussies. They stay in town most of the time using Oak and Bear. IF you find one out just Amplify damage and teleport onto them.

Fire Druid's: Same as the Nado, don't get caught in a attack or you are dead.

ShapeShift Druid's: EASY. Iron Maiden them and teleport on them. They don't h ave enough IAS to hit you fast enough before you're Summons hit them.

Sorceress (Easy):

Nova Sorc: Amplify damage and teleport right on them, They wont get one Nova off.

Fireball Sorc: Point and Laugh! Amplify damage and teleport right behind them. They will die without a fight.

Blizzard Sorc: Amplify damage and teleport right below them to avoid the Blizzard. (If you die don't be sad they pack a punch.)

Orb Sorc: Point and Laugh! Amplify damage and teleport right after they orb. GG

Necromancer's (Fun!):

Poison and Bone Necro's: Depends on if they know what they are doing! (Most don't!) Just teleport right on them with a well laid Amplify Damage it's a done deal! (Don't get caught in a spirit train!)

Poison Nova Necro: Point and Laugh! Amplify damage and Teleport right on them. The poison shouldn't hit you just the Summons.

Other Summoning Necro's: Depends on who Teleports and Lays down Amplify Damage faster!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hope you enjoyed this guide/build! Just ask anything about it and i'll answer!|||You forgot about the auradin who stacks his aura and one pulse kills you when you walk out of town.|||This is what passes for a guide now: 'get the best gear, amp, teleport, and pray. i hope you enjoyed this guide!'|||i think good bvc can kill ur skeletion within 1 or 2 hits

BvB have high defense, max blocking, and ur skeleton have very low attack ratting, why do you think ur skeleton can kill them?

ur skeleton don't have enough fhr to avoid stun lock by trap + MB

....

this is a bad guide, really

Max Poison Nova Damage?

[:1]Quick question before I begin: are poison charms factored into poison nova, and if so, how?

Ok so what's the best setup gear wise for a Poison Necro?

Things that come to mind:

all the +skills I can get

deaths web

3-piece trangs

Bramble

Is that it?|||i don't think they are....

and yes on the gear + socking with +5%/-5% (thought empahsis is on the -15%) psn facets....

im not sure whats better bramble or nigma?..i think id prefer the nigma...despite the % psn dmg....

maybe a spirit for the +2 or the nec head with +3 to psn skill i forget what its called.....shako..etc...|||Best Damage Setup for a poison necro

+3 Poison and Bone Circlet of the Whale, 2os

+3 Poison and Bone Amulet

Faceted Trang Head (for -poison resist with 3 parts

Trang Belt (2nd of 3 parts)

Trang gloves (3rd part, gives you 25% poison dmg on own)

50% Bramble

Faceted Perf DWeb, -50% resists w/o facets

Torch

Anni

9x PNB Gcs

2x Sojs

13406-13739 poison damage with -235 to poison resist with a -65 lower resist and all of your -resist gear, so against almost all chars w/o extreme stacked resists, you should be dealing well over 26k damage per cast, and that will take care of pretty much everything else in the game, especially if you put some spare points into the summon tree to get some revives and a golem, so that you can spam nova with some distraciton for other monsters/players|||u can place a facet in the trang oul wing too and te result:

-25%+(-50%)+3x(-5%)=-90% enemy poison res without LR

50%+25%+3x5%=+90% poison skill damage|||also dont forget 4 socket monarch with 4 5/5 poison facets is also an option that you have.

trangs partial set is nice but not needed really IMHO|||Quote:








also dont forget 4 socket monarch with 4 5/5 poison facets is also an option that you have.

trangs partial set is nice but not needed really IMHO




Using Trang wing gives u -25% resist, +2 pnb which is about 15% damage, poison resist, fire resist, 60% block (versus 42% for monarch). It also requires only 50 strength (versus 156 for monarch).

If you have a spare -20/20 poison monarch, then sure it is an option. I don't suggest you purposely make one because AFAIK, Trang wings cost less than buying 4 5/5 poison facets.|||Nigma>>Bramble in real play even bramble gives higher Pnova damage in theory. I've tried it last ladder.

Chien|||Quote:








Quick question before I begin: are poison charms factored into poison nova, and if so, how?

Ok so what's the best setup gear wise for a Poison Necro?

Things that come to mind:

all the +skills I can get

deaths web

3-piece trangs

Bramble

Is that it?




No poison charms do not add more poison nova damage. You benefit your nova with poison dmg% and -epr. If you want max damage IGNORING -epr setup here would be the setup:

magic wand 3 pnb/3 poison nova x2 5/5 poison facets

2 skills arkaines valor 5/5 poison facet or 50% bramble (not sure what would add more, I would have to test it out myself to figure that out)

magic necro head 3 pnb/3 poison nova x2 5/5 poison facets

3 pnb ammy

3 pnb circ x2 5/5 poison facets

arach

x2 soj or x2 bk or bk/soj

trang gloves ofc

Sounds crazy to sacrafice so much -epr for raw damage but totally possible to hit massive dmg.|||I think I saw a screenshot of stats of a pvp novamancer with 10k damage, enigma build.

poison necro question

[:1]hmm.. Gangren (my psn necro) just hit lvl 30.

and now I am in doubt, what build to use...

what I want to say, what skill to use after 60 poison ones are spent ?

should I go some skellie variant ?

I was also thinking about clay golem variant, that looks tempting to me

but of course, I want the most OP build.

so, some bonespear/spirit, or would dmg be just too low without all the synergies ?

or max LR and then rest into CE, or other way round, max CE and rest into LR ?

ah choices choices...

gear he will use is :

- trang gloves belt cantor

- blackbog sharp (dont have deaths)

- bramble

- harlequin

- any 3 psn/bone amu

- soj/bkb

and sadly, just 1 psn bone skiller (dont have more)

keep in mind, that I am singleplayer, and that I dont use RWM.|||I would suggest against putting more than 1 point into LR. It has pretty steep diminishing returns. Maxed CE or summons are both good choices depending on your playstyle. If you have the mana to support it, I like a few Revives along with a strong Clay Golem for tanking and high level CE spam.|||well, for now i will jsut pump my poison skills, and place ~5 in clay golem for some tanking (poor bastard can't make it anymore with just 1 hard point and +6 skills).

after that I will see what to do

and a quick question :

necro golems dont act like druids summons, they realy need hard points for synergies ?|||I would suggest Enigma over Bramble if you can as I wrote in another thread. I've tried both. Nigma>>bramble in real play (not on screen damage). Give a big polearm to your merc (with CB, of course). It would be much faster to kill boss by merc than by Pnova.

Chien

resistance for poison necromancer

[:1]hi

i have lvl 79 poison necromancer and i find my resistances too small for hell.

whats the best way to get good resistances for poison necromancer

any advise?|||The best way would be to change some pieces of gear or add some charms.|||+ trangoul's set, it's add good resist ( if u dont have enigma )|||Maybe you should start off by listing your current gear and what your resists are. This kind of question is so vague it's pointless to throw out suggestions.|||Quote:








Maybe you should start off by listing your current gear and what your resists are. This kind of question is so vague it's pointless to throw out suggestions.




+1

However, the easiest choices are: P.Diamond Homu, Wizzy/HotO, "Smoke" Armor or Kira's.

Full TO set is less effective since it lowers you FCR (Or have they fixed it in 1.13?)

Best pure summon/mf build

[:1]Helm: Shako

Armor: Enigma

Weapon 1: Arm of King Leroic

Weapon 2: Bo Call To Arms OR Oath(My fav, on paper) Or Beast

Shield 1: Homunculus

Shield 2: Spirit Monarch Shield

Amulet: Mara's Kaleidoscope

Rings: 2 Sojs

Belt: Arachnid Mesh

Gloves: Trang-Oul's Claws

Boots: Marrowwalk

Necromancer Torch

Annihilus

7-9 Necromancer Summon Grand Charms

10 20life Scs OR 10 mf charms

please dissect my (hopefully) future build.

I am looking for have good res in hell, (if needed).

I plan to use the Might Merc, With pride.

Also need suggestions for him, on the armor and helmet, i'm pretty much stuck on pride's concentrate for my armor.

So on paper, ill have concentrate 295%, heart of the wolverine 125% and might from merc.

thanks, be harsh.|||Quote:








thanks, be harsh.




this is awful... ;p



seriously though, your list has all the bits you need for a fun game. However, the gear is seriously overkill. You do not need beast, pride, CTA etc unless you are going for pvp. Remember the point about mfing is kill speed vs mf, and you can kill fast enough without all that obscene gear.

I restarted ladder and the thing I noticed that changed my mfing speed most was enigma, and more specifically, the teleport part of it. I can run through WSK and chaos with absolutely little effort.|||You don't want pride on your merc. It has monster freeze wich cause the corpses to shatter. That means no summons and no corpse explosions. I'd put an obedience on the merc.|||could you post gear that would be optimal mf say 300% and still have the killing power enough to do what i need?|||Helm: Shako

Armor: Enigma

Weapon 1: HotO

Weapon 2: Call To Arms

Shield 1: Homunculus

Shield 2: Spirit / Splendor

Amulet: Mara's Kaleidoscope

Rings: SoJs / Nagels

Belt: Arachnid Mesh

Gloves: Trang-Oul's Claws

Boots: War travs

or

Amulet: +2/15fcr with res

Gloves: Chancies

1. Life leech and conviction, thus increased CE damage

Andy's

Fortitude

Infinity

or

2. No leech but with meditation, so no/less mana pots

Guillaume's

Fortitude

Insight

What to do next with poison necromancer

[:1]I have 53lvl poison necromancer and i will soon have all my poison skills at maximum, and im wondering where to go next with this build?

Is there any point of going for golems? And if there is, then witch golem to go for?

Any advise or suggestion?

Also what gear do you recommend for poison necromacer?|||Mine is Pnova/summon hybrid. Max all nova syn skills, max raise skelly/1 into revive and the rest go to skelly mastery. You can go bone shield route as well if you don't want skelly meat shield.

I am using insight IG and give my merc an eth obedience thresher. Thus, I can tele without worry about the mana plus good CB for merc.

I recommand (if you can): enigma/3 pieces of trang set (glove/belt/shield)/death web. Others depend on what you want (switch CTA/spirit for BO, Mara ammy, N torch for sure.....). Also, socket trang head/death web/helm (ex: shako) with 5/-5 poison facet for sure.

Chien|||Thanks, thats really helpfull

Still would like to know about golems.

is there any point on going for golems, and if there is, witch golem to go for?|||All of the golems have their uses, although Clay Golem seems to be the most common. 1 point in Clay Golem and some points in Golem Mastery will give you a sturdy tank. 1 point in Revives also gives you some decent meat shields as well.|||Thanks

Should i go for LR after?

And what about Bone shield, is should i put some points in that? and how many|||Yes, I forgot. You need 1 pt in LR. With all the + skills, you will have enough LR. In case you got nigma, I would suggest Insight IG (unless you want to drink mana pots a lot). As mentioned above, 1 pt in IG/1pt in Golem Mastery,1 pt in summon resist would be sufficient (with all your + skills).

As bone shield, I think you should have 1 pt in bone shield, then, ,max bone walls (give more absorb than the bone shield itself). You can try some skill calculator. I do a quick calculation, @lvl90, you can max Pnova and its synergies, 1 pt each to get LR, 1 pt each to get revive and summon resist, 2 pt in bone shield and max bone walls. It really depends on your tastes. I like more skellys around to distract monsters (thus, my merc and IG are less vunerable). They are meat shields like revives or bone shields. The main damage comes from Pnova and Merc's big weapon



Chien|||If you can find a gosu necro head then points in curse tree are unnecessary(perhaps 1 for amp in boss fights).

Summoning the army... Pindle !

[:1]I started playing SP some time ago, and for fun, I'm leveling an low-twink summon necro. I suppose something like Nightfish's guide, which looks very nice. (I'm already having fun with CE, minus the mana pots)

Anyway, I started doing normal Baal runs. And I have to re-summon the whole army before getting into business. And then it hit me.

Pindle's garden is full of corpses upon arrival ! Go there, summon the army, kill Pindle (why not, heh... ), and the army is good to go !

I never read anybody giving this tip. Sure, you need to already have done the Anya rescue quest and all, so for questing, it's mostly useless. But at the start of any MF run, Pindle goes to the top of the list, as the army material is just there... lying around !?|||Quote:








I started playing SP some time ago, and for fun, I'm leveling an low-twink summon necro. I suppose something like Nightfish's guide, which looks very nice. (I'm already having fun with CE, minus the mana pots)

Anyway, I started doing normal Baal runs. And I have to re-summon the whole army before getting into business. And then it hit me.

Pindle's garden is full of corpses upon arrival ! Go there, summon the army, kill Pindle (why not, heh... ), and the army is good to go !

I never read anybody giving this tip. Sure, you need to already have done the Anya rescue quest and all, so for questing, it's mostly useless. But at the start of any MF run, Pindle goes to the top of the list, as the army material is just there... lying around !?




You obviously haven't searched the forum very well, since:

http://diablo.incgamers.com/forums/s...dle%27s+garden

http://diablo.incgamers.com/forums/s...dle%27s+garden

Just do it fast before you piss them off.|||there's a few bodies right outside the gates to the city too

High Damage Iron Golem: Some Questions

[:1]So I've been trying to find out exactly how damage from a weapon interacts with iron golem when that weapon is used to make an IG, and it hasn't been very informative. So here are my questions:

-How does the base damage of the weapon (say, an ebotd war pike) interact with the base damage of the IG?

-How does the 6% enhanced damage per level from the fire golem synergy interact with external sources of enhanced damage (might, heart of wolverine, concentration, etc)?

Basically, is it possible to make an iron golem that does a whole bunch of damage (money is no object here, expensive items can be used)?

Thanks for any information you can provide.|||I know it isn't exactly what you asked, but regarding this:


Quote:








Basically, is it possible to make an iron golem that does a whole bunch of damage (money is no object here, expensive items can be used)?




A great (possibly best) function of Iron Golem is to make him with a high CB item (IK Maul, for instance), to help with taking down Bosses.|||Quote:








-How does the base damage of the weapon (say, an ebotd war pike) interact with the base damage of the IG?




As far as I know the weapon is being treated as equipped. The base damage of the weapon is added to the base damage of the IG.




Quote:








-How does the 6% enhanced damage per level from the fire golem synergy interact with external sources of enhanced damage (might, heart of wolverine, concentration, etc)?




The %ED stacks like other sources of %ED. So it's all lumped together and applied to the base damage of the IG.




Quote:








Basically, is it possible to make an iron golem that does a whole bunch of damage (money is no object here, expensive items can be used)?




Yes. Although with the slow attack speed and next delay of the IG you are not going to see him take out things with speed.|||Ah, I forgot all about the stupid slow attack speed and nextdelay. Laaaaame.

What to socket shako/homuculus with for damage? (fishy)

[:1]Ok, so I have a fishy with two empty sockets, and I have no idea what to use. I don't need rez/dr/fhr so I was thinking about using something to help me kill faster, but I can't think of anything to use, so should I just use a couple ptopaz'? I mean, this isn't really an mf necro, but since I already have an enig and a shako, might as well take advantadge of it if there's nothing that will really help me?

anyway here's my gear

shako

maras

enig

hom

hoto

arach

2 sojs

magefist

marrow|||The only thing you could socket that would increase damage are -fire res jewels for CE. If that is worth it is up to you.

(And a pTopaz in a shield doesn't give mf)|||Quote:








The only thing you could socket that would increase damage are -fire res jewels for CE. If that is worth it is up to you.

(And a pTopaz in a shield doesn't give mf)




True, I forgot about that. I mean, if I'm already going to get an ist then, might as well get a 5/5 facet I guess.|||Only -efr will work with ce. +fire% dmg does not work with ce so you can use that as socket. But I would go um but you said you dont need resist so I guess the -5 fire facet if your only other option.|||or you could use the socket to change another piece of gear. For example, um the homonc, and you can use a +2/20fcr amulet instead of a mara, and you will still have same resists, round about|||Ptopazes

Arm Of King Leoric + Beast swap

[:1]Did they "fix" it so you lose the +skills to your skellies when you swap or does it still work to have beast on swap?

If not beast have to be the better choice to do as much DPS as possible?!|||You lose the extra skeletons when you switch, IF, for example AoKL gives you enough for 2 skeletons more than beast, you lose those 2 when you switch. The stats, however, remain the same. In my opinion Hoto + Cta is a better combo tho.|||In my opinion AoKL + Beast is the best combination for a Summoner. You may loose a skelie or 2 when you switch but the extra dmg is well worth it. I don't see what a Hoto/CTA gives a Summoner. Sure BO works on yourself but you should never be taking much/any damage anyway and BO barely helps Skellies (they are sooo tough anyway and it has a much smaller effect).|||Please, do remember that the main damage for a fishymancer comes from the CE |||Beast is highly overrated for a summoner in my opinion. You don't improve the minions' attack speed by much, the little bit of ED goes onto a big pile of other ED, and the AR doesn't matter if your merc has Infinity like he should. (He does, right?)

The ability to telestomp, CE, and curse faster with a Hoto is far more important.|||For me, the only place I found beast to be even remotely useful was on �ber Trist, speeding up your Urduar's attack speed.



That said, AoKL is an amazing wand, for starters but it loses to Hoto like Scissors to Rock|||Quote:








Beast is highly overrated for a summoner in my opinion. You don't improve the minions' attack speed by much, the little bit of ED goes onto a big pile of other ED, and the AR doesn't matter if your merc has Infinity like he should. (He does, right?)

The ability to telestomp, CE, and curse faster with a Hoto is far more important.




You very rarely need to telestomp and I can live with that 1FPS loss for the handful of occasions you need to do that. I always have plenty of time to curse, I don't know why anyone would need to curse quickly, Amp covers the room in one go anyway. CE also kills all in 1 or 2 casts and I always have plenty of time to cast it anyway. Extra skills in CE only adds area and in most cases having +20 in CE is fine compared to +23 (I actually only get +15 (lvl 35 total) in CE with Beast, so I guess I would get +18 (lvl38 total) with Hoto).

The only thing I could imagine Hoto would be useful for is teleporting to places, however I use AoKL with a +3 Summon Darkforce Spawn, with Arach and Trangs giving me 80 FCR and a nice tele speed. Switch to Beast/Homunculus for fighting and things die nice and quick.

Beast helps all the time mostly thanks to increased speed but is especially good when your merc gets himself killed.

I guess we could make a Beast Iron Golem and keep Hoto though... but I think a Pride Iron Golem with Beast on Necro and a Might merc sounds better ^^. Of course I would not do that, too risky for me but I like my Insight Iron Golem.

In truth we are arguing over so little difference, both set-ups will crush everything in sight and it really just comes down to what you prefer.|||The fact of the matter is that for all but the toughest boss mobs +3 in CE and FCR (assuming you get a BP out of it) for teleport is actually more offensive power than the aura on beast so there's really no reason at all to use beast outside of ubers or key guardians even for damage. On top of that it's got much better defensive potential although someone that doesn't even value max block enough to use a hommunculous over a darkforce might not find defense very useful.|||I do use Homunculus with Beast. I use Darkforce/AoKL to Summon and Teleport, when fighting begins Beast/Homunculus are up. I guess you could hit the 125 FCR bp with Hoto but thats not needed with a Summoner. I also have max res with both setups, so a Hoto would not give me that either. I guess the life replenidh is nice on Hoto but you take so little dmg anyway... and mana is not an issue with an Insight IG.

And you seem to be saying that Beast is better against the toughest mobs and Hoto is best against the rest? If that is the case then does that not mean Beast is best. Afterall weaker mobs will be dealt with easily with either setup so its against the toughest that really matters.

Finally if your merc dies and my merc dies then a Beast setup is the best by far, I will be able to get that first corpse much faster (I would have been faster even with mercs, but mariginally so) and get my CE chain going.|||No, being good in one aspect doesn't mean good everywhere.

Best is strong when it adds IAS to attacks with CB. There aren't a lot of situations in the game other than ubers where this is something that's all that useful to maximize.

HotO is strong because it adds radius to CE, speeding area clears, and adds FCR to teleport, speeding any run of any type if it hits a BP (which it will with proper planning).

For the vast vast majority of the game, as you point out, the HP of the mobs is trivial relative to the damage of even unbuffed skeletons and CE so the best thing to maximize for runs of all kinds is speed i.e. +skills for CE because the radius can never be too big and FCR for teleport, because every frame saved on each teleport adds up a lot more than you think over the course of an hour or two spent running something like keys or pits or what have you.

With proper gear and attention paid to him the merc should rarely, if ever, be in any real danger. Just about the only thing that kills mine with any consistency are ubers. Be aware of the things he's weak too, like hydras from council members, and compensate for his weakness with proper play and you won't be gimping your speed for everything else just to keep things manageable should the merc happen to die.

Priapism: The Invincible Boner

[:1]I have always enjoyed really defensive builds and I wanted to get feedback for my idea (I'm sure it has been done before.) at one. Please leave your thoughts for improvements and the flaws you see.

I want to start by saying that I know this build has zero kill speed. This is only intended to amuse me by standing in a pack of monsters and being very safe.

The centerpiece of the build is the runeword "Bone" which has 15% chance to cast level 10 Bone Armor when struck. Fully synergized this can absorb 710 damage (there could be a parallel build with "Rain" for a druid). On average would be equivalent to 0.15*710 = 106.5 PDR. The build's physical defense would come from PDR.

Another critical component of the build is Blackoak Luna and its 4% chance to cast level 5 Weaken. The Weaken penalty applies before the PDR which greatly increases the effectiveness of the PDR.

Elemental defense comes from a combination of high resists, percentage absorb and finally integer absorb. Using Squiggi's table of unique and set affixes I tracked down all the max resist and absorb items.

I arrived at the following equipment list by trying to balance my defense against all elements and physical equally. There is a Excel sheet that I made to do this. I was very pleased at how common all the equipment ended up being.

Head: Good PDR Circlet (I believe the maximum would be 25 PDR with 2 sockets from Larzuk. I would appreciate verification.)

Amulet: 25 PDR Magic

Weapon: Lightsabre (25% lite absorb)

Body: Bone Runeword

Shield: Blackoak w/ sol (~60 cold absorb at my current level)

Rings: Natures Peace (11 PDR max)

Gloves: Hellmouth (15 fire absorb)

Belt: T-Gods (20 lite absorb and 10 to max lite resistance)

Boots: Hotspur (15 to max fire resistance)

Charms: Resistances stacked as high as possible in case of conviction.

You may have noticed a lack of defense against poison. Poison can't kill you but I am concerned that it will leave me at 1 hp and a lucky blow or long time between Weaken or Bone Armor castings.

The other weakness I have noticed in playing my rough version of this character is pure magic damage. I have no real defense against it.

Basically my actual single player character is missing T-Gods, Hotspur and a Nature's Peace. There is also room for 10+ more PDR with better amulet and circ. So far I am pretty happy with how he holds up but I haven't played him extensively.|||Sounds intresting. Though doesn't PDR do the same as Bone Armor? I thought Bone Armor absorbs all physical dmg until it breaks so you could try to rely on that alone for physical damage.

Of course if you did, 15% CTC is a little low on its own. If you used a max block setup 15% might be enough. I've read that CTC will work with attacks that you block. If so, over 1 in 7 "hits" casts bone armor and 3/4 of "hits" you block. So in 7 hits 5.25 will be blocked 1.75 will dmg bone armor and 1 out of those 7 will also cast bone armor on average. Sounds quite tough to me, but I think someone needs to test it really.

I would use all other gear to get 95%@ res if possible (but without Guardian Angel that might be tough) and also add some integar sorb, I don't think %sorb is that useful. Only one problem remains - magic damage.

Maybe its possible to use MDR rather than res/sorb, it covers light/fire/cold/magic dmg.

2 x 15 MDR Dwarf Stars - 30 MDR

Artisan's Circlet of Negation (Socketed with 3 Mals) -27 MDR

Jewellers Monarch of Negation (4 Mals) - 34 MDR

Amulet of Negation - 6 MDR or Crafted Safety Amulet (could get FCR and skills too I think) -5 MDR

Crafted Safety Boots - 2 MDR

"White" wand has 4 MDR

String of Ears - 15 MDR

"Bone" Armor

Crafted Safety Gloves - 2 MDR

Thats 119 MDR, which sounds alot to me. Of course the above setup was just for max MDR and some items I would change and some items are almost impossible to find or trade for anyway. Maybe I have missed some MDR items too. Also you would need alot of dex to get max Block with that Monarch ^^

A better setup might be-

2 x 15 MDR Dwarf Stars

Artisan's Circlet of the Magus (Socketed with 3 Mals)

Jewellers Monarch of Negation (4 Mals)

Crafted Caster Amulet with 2 necro skills and 15+ FCR

Treks (for the poison res which is the only res you will need)

"White" wand

String of Ears

"Bone" Armor

Magefists or Trangs

Torch/Anni/P&B Skillers

-75 FCR

-104 MDR

- Much easier to max Poison Res with treks

- and some + skills form White wand and amulet and trangs

- this setup looks ok to get, except the JMoN but any 4 sox Monarch with 4 Mals is nearly as good (28 MDR v 34). I actually think a JMoD would be best as we do want max block but they are not so easy to get ^^

Would be nice to use Homunculus for easier max block but the JMoN gives so much MDR.

Of course I have no idea how much MDR you actually need to negate most/all elemental and magic dmg, this build might not have nearly enough for all I know.

*edit* was just doing some reading on the damage of Black Souls (192-288 lightning dmg), which indicated MDR alone will not be enough. And since it comes before res iirc it will only be like 30% light res v black Souls :/ I guess res/sorb might be best then.

Horadrim Ancient do up to 99 Magic Damage so I think around 100 MDR will make you immune to Magic Damage.

*edit2* You could use charms to get max res too then replace the amulet with a rising star for fire sorb, replace SoE for Thundergods for higher max light res and light sorb. You would drop to around 90 MDR and only have 60 FCR though. Cold damage is lower than fire and light so the MDR might cover it... but like I keep saying I don't really know anything ^^|||Sounds fun. Why Black Oak Luna? Weaken is a Necromancer spell and Decrepify is probably infinitely better. Wouldn't Gerke's and a Ravenfrost be a better mix? Also, where do you spend your skill points?|||PDR is capped at 50 if I'm not mistaken.|||Quote:








PDR is capped at 50 if I'm not mistaken.




I think % damage reduction is capped at 50% but I think integar PDR does not have a cap.|||Ah, my mistake.|||Swap the lightsaber for a grief pb, hellmouth for laying of hands(light sorb is all that really matters anyways) and a good geared act2 merc with blessed aim and you've got yourself a decent fighter. A pretty good necro build that isn't overly dependent on +skill gear.

Low CB would make you a little slower than what mine is like.|||Well for killing, all you need is a first corpse for CE. So in my experiences, assasin's and necromancers are the best classes to try these kind of builds. You only sacrifice the sufficiency of your kill speed (slower to get that first chain of CE going) then sacrificing kill speed all together.

I've done PDR assasin kicker and paladin and daggerzon before. I've always wanted to try out bone armor fully synergized. Never got around too it.

In terms of MDR, I don't think its a huge problem as lightning from gloams. Magic damage from monster's adds up to be ALOT but alittle mdr goes along way for those instances. I'd probably aim for 20-30 mdr MAYBE. A decent block percentage will also help.

I know you want to stand in any crowd and feel nothing. But I have to say, there's always a pack of monsters that will cut you down. ALWAYS. Thats my experience from toying with max block/absorb, bo'd, max prayer, 90+ Res all paladins with full vitality and pdr. That being said, its RARE you run across a pack like that unless you run hell worldstone as much as I do. But there is no invincibility in this game under normal (non modded game specs) parameters.

I found a +3 summon with 24 pdr circlet the other week. Summon skills are bleh...but still might make some use for such a build. Couple of skill points and I got a nice little golem/decoy/monster distractor to walk around with me.

High-level class items, low level talents?

[:1]I'm a n00b player (just reinstalled the game after 9 years of inactivity ), and decided to play a skellie-summoning necro. As a completely untwinked toon, I usually scour the vendors for wands with useful mods - but it appears that once you pass a certain level, 1st-level talents no longer appear on items, making items like +3 to summoning, +3 raise skellie, +3 skellie mastery unavailable. I've tried searching the forums to verify this, but haven't found anything.



Just checking to see if it's true, so I can stop checking to see if Ormus has the Mitey Wand of Lots-o-mods.

Thanks!|||http://diablo2.diablowiki.net/Guide:...ziah#Staffmods

The important bit:


Code:
Base tier to use for an item is determined by the ilvl as
tier:ilvl range
* 1: 1-11
* 2: 12-18
* 3: 19-24
* 4: 25-36
* 5: 37+

then there is a random adjustment made for which tier to actually use when selecting the actual skill:
* 20% chance to add 1
* 50% chance to stay unmodified
* 20% chance to subtract 1
* 10% chance to subtract 2
|||Thanks!

I thought that I had read something on it - but there's a lot of material to absorb!

MF efficiency vs sorc

[:1]Hi guys

Some advice would be appreciated. Im a relatively experienced ladder player. I recently restarted about 2 weeks ago and now have traded for enough wealth for around 2 HRs on ladder.

I should have the materials to essentially trade for enigma or infinty.

I have a pure MF light sorc at the present which struggles around areas like WSK with the high resists, but can go through arcane with 500MF with full resists and come out without a sweat. I also have a fishy necro which can breeze through WSK. I like a bit of variation in my MF (ie doing the same runs again and again is not an option).

I know with infi, light sorcs can do serious damage and break most immunes. However, with eni, a necro could have some nice speed as well with CE. My question is, which is the all round most effient for MF, taking into account:

1. killing speed

2. amount of MF can be fitted safely

3. fun to use

4. teleport ability (im guessing sorc wins hands down on this)

5. adaptability and versatility

thanks for your help

guface|||With infi or eni, I would say:

1. Light for most areas. WSK with gloams can be tricky. The necro is superior for cow running imo

2. Necro

3. Up to you

4. Sorc will have a better rate, but when you're area clearing this isn't really an issue

5. With more modest equipment probably the necro. Once it's really well equipped I'd say your sorc.|||In my opinion -

1. killing speed

Light Sorc can kill faster and I think the light Sorc is superior for cows because the cow king is always light immune (been a patch since I last run cows on hell difficulty so maybe things have changed).

2. amount of MF can be fitted safely

Necro can have more without compromising defence or killing power.

3. fun to use



I prefer Necro, but like hubb says its really up to you.

4. teleport ability (im guessing sorc wins hands down on this)

Sorc is faster at tele, and should clear most areas faster too.

5. adaptability and versatility

I think Necro wins here, he can take out every monster and can even solo the ubers. Sorc can do most but often with more difficulty (hard areas/tough mobs highlight a light sorc weaker defence) and can't do the Ubers.

Overall I'd say, Sorc wins for speed - both faster teleporting and faster killing. Necro is a much safer build and is more versatile (Necro kills everything, Sorc kills nearly everything). As for Mf, although the Necro can probably get more % without weakening the build, killing speed is probably more important so Light Sorc might well get more nice items even with lower mf.|||thanks for both your inputs. I decided that speed isnt the only thing that matters, and the necro is extremely good fun. Therefore decided to make my necro the main MF char. Just traded for a ber and have got a jah. Also have a 261 def MP ready

Now for moving those mf charms....|||I think you made the right choice for you. You said variation was important to you and with a summoner you could, if you wanted, run every high TC area in the game (pits, tunnels, WSK, celler levels in act v, i think i might be forgetting some) as well as keys, the countess, and even act bosses all in one game. Even with infinity there are unbreakable light immunes on some of those runs (I think). Running it this way, in my experience, really helps break up the monotony of it all because every 2 mins or so I was doing a completely different area.|||neccys are area clearers, sorks are rinse-and-repeat boss thumpers.

i rekon area clears are a more viable method of generating e-wealth.|||Javazons are the fastest area cleaners if thats your thang|||People need to start making less light sorc nowaday.|||People should make what they like

Different aspects of the game call for different chars (or even no char at all).|||Quote:








People should make what they like

Different aspects of the game call for different chars (or even no char at all).




Sorry for not being clear with my post but I meant to say something like you just said. I just meant that realms are filled with hdins and light sorc's.

Equipment Dilema - Infinity or Enigma

[:1]After a long hiatus of not playing the game, I've managed to accumulate enough wealth to think about affording either an Enigma or Infinity. I have a lvl 89 MF Poison Necro with a Prayer merc with the combined equipment:

Blackbog Sharp

P'Topazed Shako

Trang Gloves

P'Topazed Skulders

Crafted +1 skills 10% FCR ammy /w res

2x Rare 10% FCR Rings /w res

Cow King Boots

P'Diamonded Homonoculus

Tal's Belt

Enough charms to give me 40+ res all in hell after penalties

Merc:

Tals Mask

Leviathan

Insight CV

Since I use him to MF, which would be a better choice, the ability to teleport with Enigma or the extra killing power of Infinity, or shore up some of my other items with things like Sojs, Arachnid Mesh and a good Death's Web? I'm thinking having the ability to teleport would greatly reduce my time to do MF runs (Pits, Tunnels, Chaos, Lower Kurast), but the Infinity and/or the other items would increase my killing power also reducing MF time.|||Conviction doesn't lower poison resistance, so this one should be easy. |||Quote:








Conviction doesn't lower poison resistance, so this one should be easy.




Well that solves that part then. Should I go for the Engima first or the other stuff?|||Quote:








Well that solves that part then. Should I go for the Engima first or the other stuff?




Enigma.

But what's your playstyle? Are you actually using PSN attacks a lot, or is it the usual CE clearing? Do you have Skellies support?

And why the hell do you have Blackbog Sharp? Get Spirit at the very least.|||Enigma ftw. I would suggest 3 parts of trang set (glove/belt/shield). The next to get would be dweb. Even the lowest one will do. You play in east ladder? I do have a lowest ever (someone trade me when I first have my pnova mancer). Yeah, even it is 1/-40, it is still better than anything else (other than better stat dweb). I can trade it for cheap(u can use for temp until you get a better one).

Infinity is not totally useless. Just too expensive. Even it doesn't help you nova damage, it would still be great for its conviction (lower def,too), and CB. For cheaper option, give merc an eth obedience in threasher (or other fast polearm).

Chien|||No matter what the considerations are, enigma is always the answer for a necro.

There is no situation where you'd say "you need your infinity before getting enigma".|||I usually go for infinity if I can but in this case that you are a poison necro go for enigma. But remember its ladder only runeword so make them fast. Do alot of area cleaning to populate and hopefully an hr pops out of nowhere.|||If you're a MF Necro, your sole purpose in life should be getting an Enigma.